Eight Months

Even though I’ve been through this twice before, I find it impossible to believe that there will likely be a full grown baby ready to pop right out of my belly.  I thought about this in a more cerebral manner than I ever have as I held the perineum of a woman delivering her very own baby this morning.  How is it, that in 8 months, everything so quickly transforms from a little pink line on a pregnancy test to a complete human being coming into the world?

The more important question is, “how will I (can anybody) be ready for this to happen!?”

Eight months is not a long time, yet it is the only time we get to prepare ourselves for the most life changing event ever.  I know it will be enough time, but I can’t believe it: Even though the last two times, it was certainly enough.

What does seem like too much time though, is the time it takes to wait for a better confirmation of this pregnancy.  Just this weekend we have had 3 ladies with ruptured ectopic pregnancies and it has been impossible for me to not think about that possibility for myself.  Or the possibility that I could be one of the 30% of women who have a miscarriage, or something else that would make this pregnancy non-viable.  It feel like forever.

Time is surreal and it makes no sense.  Regardless, we are bound by time, whether we’re ready for it or not.

3 thoughts on “Eight Months

  1. SPOT ON. I’m not as overwhelmed with how I’ll get through the newborn days, since I now really know that those days are so fleeting. But I’m so overwhelmed thinking about how another little one will fit into our family. How will my children react? Will they all get along? My two kids absolutely adore each other; will another baby be adored and adore, too? And the thoughts go on and on and on. Agh, I just have to stop thinking about it before anxiety takes over.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment