Writers Block

Since starting my new blog, I have been having difficulty with creative and expressive writing.  My blog posts have mostly been about the literal and practical aspects of my life and sometimes I find these types of posts somewhat unfulfilling.  As a result, I haven’t been blogging as much as I used to or I would like to.  I’m not sure what to do about it.  I thought about looking at some of the daily prompts (after all, that’s what got me Freshly Pressed on my old blog) for inspiration.  Unfortunately, I don’t have a whole lot of time for that most days.

I think I am also mourning the fact that I used to be a really great writer, and now I’m just… not.  I wish I knew what happened.  I wish I could go back to the old days of blogging.  In the meantime, I’ve come up with a few ideas that I’m going to try and stick with.  Most of them involve my newly discovered pregnancy, but I think it will be a good place to start. First, I am thinking of starting a series of letters to my baby.  In my first pregnancy I kept a journal and wrote it in the style of a “Dear Baby” book.  It was tedious at some points, but I enjoy going back to it every once in a while.  I’m hoping that these letters will be more personal and less of a “documentation of my pregnancy” like I did before.  We’ll see how it goes.

Lately I have also really been questioning my career choices in medicine.  This mostly revolved around the fact that I have chosen a very time consuming and demanding specialty, even though I love it.  Obstetrics is amazing and I love women’s health, but I hate being away from my family so much.  I suspect it will get even worse, especially if this pregnancy sticks.  I maintain that I fell in love with obstetrics when I was pregnant the first time around.  This pregnancy might be an opportunity for me to revisit everything that I found interesting and amazing about pregnancy, obstetrics, and the wonder of a woman’s body.  Hopefully I will be able to document that as I go along too.

I’ve been trying to get back into my mindfulness exercises.  I haven’t been doing them for a few months, and I’m sure that has a bit to do with how much I’ve been feeling down lately.  Last night I started up again and conveniently, the Headspace app has a new Pregnancy Series.  I would like to blog more about my headspace experiences and see where that goes as well.

Finally, I want to get back into blogging about my goals.  In January I set goals for myself and every month I would blog about the progress of those goals.  In July I re-visited the goals because there were some that I had made great progress with, and others that needed some revisiting.  I never actually did an August update, and if I’m being completely honest, I felt like closing down my old blog meant that I didn’t have to be accountable about them anymore.  For that reason, I think that starting up the monthly updates is going to be a great way to hold myself accountable again.

Does anyone have any other ideas for how I can incorporate more creative writing?  (I feel some some of these ideas are still very literal and not very creative)

9 thoughts on “Writers Block

  1. Ah… listen to Israel Nash, the album with “Rain Plans”… =) His style is so haunting, vaguely Dillon-esque, but with more passion and his voice just pours over you, like warm honey. Mmm… I get so full of ideas and happiness and my own muchness whenever I listen to him… laying on the couch with feet up and a warm cloth over the eyes does the trick for me ! =)

    In all seriousness, I find you to be a very detailed and interesting writer, to me you sort of come off as a bit tongue-in-cheek, which I adore ! =) I think you are indeed creative, and perhaps you are in a place of technical prose right now. What are you feeling passionate about right now ? What wells up in your chest and makes you scream, or smile, or dance ? =) Write about ANYTHING as you decide how to move forward, because we are all here, waiting with bells on…

    Best of days to you, my new friend… =) =)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A, I still enjoy reading your blog, but I suspect that what you’re feeling is your lack of enthusiasm for blogging due to your general mood. Perhaps a good question to ask yourself, would be – ‘who am I writing this for?’

    If it’s for yourself, then go ahead and pour your heart out as if no one will read it, but If you have a reader in mind, or you’re writing because you want to gain readers, I’d suggest to just keep at it until you feel the flow return.

    I like the music suggestion – do you listen to music when you run? Maybe the combination would inspire you. And I love your idea of writing to your future baby.

    My solution would be to take time off from blogging, but I don’t think that would work for you. Whatever works for you is what’s important, because there will always be readers waiting for your words.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

