Tempered Expectations

Every year I dread the arrival of my birthday. It is such an anti-climactic day and for years it always felt like something was missing. 

Maybe it’s because when I was a kid, my birthday was a big and special day – and now there is nothing special about it. 

Maybe it’s because my husband is not the kind of guy who celebrates anything, my special occasions included. 

Maybe it’s because I have this idea that everyone around me has more exciting birthday experiences than I do.

Maybe I’m just getting old. 

Whatever it is, I always feel like it could be more. 

Today was different, though. I had no expectations. In fact, I expected that it would be nothing special and nothing more than any other day. And because of this tempered expectation, I was not disappointed when there were no big hugs and kisses and home-made cards from my kids. I was happy to spend the morning getting some exercise and getting to know a new friend. We had a nice family dinner at my favourite restaurant,  and I was pleasantly surprised when my husband gave me a birthday card with some thoughtful words written on it.  The only birthday gift I got today was a free birthday drink from Starbucks. 

It wasn’t exciting and it wasn’t spectacular, but I wasn’t disappointed – and that’s better than most birthdays. 

9 thoughts on “Tempered Expectations

    • Agreed, but unrealistic expectations can ruin them too. I know my husband will never be the guy that plans a dinner and shows up with a Gift and flowers, so I just stop expecting it. He says when we have more money it will be different… We’ll see!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Happy and warm thoughts to you today, Aggie! =)

    Isn’t it nice to just breathe, be there in the moment, and let everything else fall to the side? My best holidays have always been the ones where I am doing as I please, be it alone, in a group of loved ones, or in service to others. =)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

