Family Drama

There is always something. 

My mom is throwing me a baby shower for Baby Girl. Despite this being my third baby, it is actually my first baby shower. As you can imagine, I’m pretty excited. 

My mom asked me who to invite, and I gave her a list that was primarily my husband’s family members and a few of my close friends.  On this list, of course, was my MIL… But also my FIL’s fiancé. 

I received this message from my MIL this morning:

“I understand you invited [FIL’s fiance] to shower. Please let me know whether or not she is coming as it will determine my attendance. Thanks”

Seriously, this is normal and acceptable behaviour for a 60 year old woman!?!

Let the fun begin 🙂

7 thoughts on “Family Drama

    • I think they’ve been separated for the last 3ish years. Divorced for 2 of them. Also, my MIL has never met the new fiancé.
      If you don’t already know, I’m not a huge fan of my MiL to begin with…

      Like

  1. I’m sure it will be uncomfortable for MIL, but whatevs!!! I would NOT let MIL ever know how they respond – because if that is going to be a reason for her not to attend, then she doesn’t need to be there. “I’m sorry you feel that way, and we will miss having you here”. BOOM!

    Like

Leave a Reply

