Talking About Tina

“You can’t be that kid standing at the top of the waterslide, overthinking it.  You have to go down the chute.”
~Tina Fey

From The Old Blog, November 25, 2014:

I really like Tina Fey.  That might be the reason I was inclined to pick this quotation.
I also really enjoy waterslides, especially those ones that you go down on inner tubes and they have all the little splash pools along the way.  I don’t ever remember being “that Kid” who got to the top of the slide and was afraid to go down.  I always embraced the moment and I’d get set up as soon as the last person went down: I’d grab the bar or the sides of the jets and prepare to propel myself down the first dip as soon as I got the okay from the disgruntled pool worker.  There must have been a time, however, when I was a little scared, or unsure, or hesitant.  I must have been very young though – because I don’t remember it.  If it did happen, I was young, and it was all new.  I’m allowed to be uncertain when something is new, right?

I don’t feel like talking all deep and philosophical today.  I am just happy to see that I had (maybe) a sense of humour when I picked out all these quotations.  I still love Tina Fey.  Over the summer I read her book, Bossypants, and I loved it.  I have tried to start watching 30 Rock, just because of her, and while I enjoy the show, I’ve just been too busy and tired lately.  I have a much greater appreciation for the person and the artist that is Tina Fey.  Let’s just leave it at that for today.

Tina Fey is awesome.  She makes me laugh, and I need a little more of that in my life!

Leave a Reply

