Shakespearean Comedy

“Life is a tragedy when seen in close-up, but a comedy in long-shot.”
~Charlie Chaplin

From The Old Blog, November 19, 2014

Can we define “Comedy” and “Tragedy” here?  Because based on what I remember from my Shakespeare class, a tragedy means everyone dies and a comedy means that everyone falls in love and gets married…  I don’t know how they convert.  Oh wait, except usually in those comedies there is some huge mix-up or screw up, or miscommunication that eventually gets sorted out.  Maybe that’s it…

Regardless of the definitions and whether or not you read “A Midsummer Night’s Dream” at some point in your life, I think this quotation offers some hope that in the end, it will all work out one way or another.  I’d like to think that in 10 or 20 years (I will most definitely need that much time) I’ll look back on this time and laugh at how “silly” I was for making such a big deal out of everything that’s happening.  Maybe not.  Or maybe I’ll just need to add more wine to life and then it will become a comedy… or maybe a tragic comedy…?  Either way, I’m pretty sure I’m in Act III, and maybe even Act III.II of some unknown number of sub-acts.

I’m happy to say that I have emerged from the worst part of this Shakespearean Comedy that I call my life.  As I’ve seen in this little month-long exercise of going back and re-reading, re-posting, and responding to my posts from last November, I am much better off now than I was a year ago.  I feel like I can start to see the end of this chapter of my life (likely known as the medical education chapter) coming to a happy, or at least amicable, ending.  I still have a long way to go, so I’ll assume I still at the end of act III, or maybe just beginning act IV, but at least things are going in the right direction.

2 thoughts on “Shakespearean Comedy

  1. I’m glad things are going in the right direction! 🙂
    Have you seen Will Ferrell, Stranger Than Fiction? It is an odd movie, but funny, he can hear narration that no one else can. He goes to see a psychiatrist because he is hearing this voice, and they discover someone is writing about his life, as it is happening – and the psychiatrist goes, “well, is it a comedy or a tragedy?” Will’s character answers that he doesn’t know. So the psychiatrist tells him to keep a journal and make a tick mark for each action that ends in a life or smile, and then one that doesn’t. Right off the bat, he runs into his crush, and they laugh and flirt and so a mark goes in the “comedy” side. And the next time we see the book, he has that one mark on the comedy side… and a full page of marks on the tragedy side!! 🙂
    And I spent so much time explaining that, I effectively lost my point!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

