Crazy, Crazy, Life!

“What sane person could live in this world and not be crazy?”
~Ursula K. LeGuin

In honour of this past week being crazy, I decided to (yet again) re-post last year’s entry.  This past week I worked 4 call shifts in 9 days, which included working through an entire weekend.  In essence, I basically worked 12 days straight!  How exhausting! (At least I’ve managed to keep up with the blogging challenge!)

From The Old Blog, November 17, 2014

Oh My!  Where do I start?  This World is just too much sometimes!  What world?  How about all the worlds???

The “Real” World: Technology, Facebook, Movie stars, Competition, Mommy Wars, Politics, Weather… you name it.  The real world that we all live in and that we all share – it is one crazy, difficult to manage place most of the time.

The “Parent” World: If you have kids, you know what I mean.  I ended a friendship over a blog post I shared on Facebook once.  It was titled (something like) “Ten things I hate about being a parent and one thing I love.” It was basically talking about all the crappy, stressful things that go along with having kids: Food everywhere, no sleep, 24hr/7day job with no break, puke in the middle of the night (complete with doing laundry)… the list goes on.  The one thing the author loved was her actual children and the happiness they brought to her life.  Well, my Facebook friend thought this article was far from comical and basically said that she loves every minute of being a parent (to her 6-wk old only baby at the time) and that any person who jokes about how “terrible” parenting is shouldn’t have kids.  Well, Facebook friend, the truth is that being a parent is crazy challenging… (I wonder if she would have a different opinion 3 years later…)

The “Resident” World: If you’re a resident (or medical student, or doctor), you get it.  Regularly working 11 hr days, then working approximately 2 call shifts a week.  All while having academic commitments, and commitments to your staff, and your patients, and yourself, (and your family)… And all that “learning” you’re trying to do while making sure you don’t screw up someone’s medical care… while all you try not to think about is how much you’d like to sleep…
I went to a productivity seminar for my resident retreat a few days ago.  The presenter was telling us how important it is to get a good amount and quality of sleep.  She encouraged us to think about how we could all improve this in our lives and gave an example of why it’s important.  She said that “if a person gets 4 hours of sleep for 4 nights in a row, they function at the same level as someone who has been awake for 24hours straight!  And, that’s the same level of functioning as someone who is above the legal limit of impairment!” (If you are a resident/medical student/doctor, you know where this is going…)  This poor lady then asked us what we thought of that.  We didn’t know what to say.  Every one of us in the room was thinking the exact same thing, but none of us were going to say it: “Do you know how often I am awake for 24hours straight?  Do you know what kinds of decisions/procedures I am responsible for when I am ‘above the legal limit of impairment?'”  Anyway, all that to say, resident life is beyond crazy sometimes.

I have to say, though, it’s nice to know that I’m not the only one who’s crazy!

Leave a Reply

