Motivation for Positivity

“A positive attitude may not solve all of your problems, but it will annoy enough people to make it worth the effort.”

~Herm Albright

Over the past year I have worked harder at having a positive attitude?  Maybe it’s because I was told by a certain someone that I was too negative, or maybe it’s because in January I set a goal of trying to be more gracious and positive in life.  That worked out really well for me, at least until July, when I had to close my other blog.  See I used to keep a monthly accountability log of my personal goals on my blog.  I thought about keeping that up with this new blog, but it was hard missing most of the back story.

Last year I wrote about how this quotation alluded to motiviation for positivity, and then I went off on a tangent about what motivates us to do the things we do in life.   based on this excerpt from last year’s post, it’s obvious that I am not always placing motivation in the right spot… and I questioned if that was alright:

But what about me?  What if the reason I keep going on from day to day is because I don’t want to let people down?  Or that I don’t want people to know that I quit?  Or maybe that I have too many student loans to pay off and this is the only way to do it?  What if I don’t always feel motivated by the desire to reach my goals – or that I want to finish my residency, or to become a knowledgeable, capable and compassionate physician?  I *want* all those things, I really do.  But they all just seem so far away and so out of reach.  If I just keep making it through for all these other reasons, will it matter in the end… if I get all those things I want in the long term?

This year, I feel like I am much more motivated by the things I really want (as described above) and not nearly as much as by the more superficial ideas I mentioned.  By what about my positivity?  Has my positivity influenced the way I am motivated?  Or, what motivates me to be positive.  I have to say, I don’t think I am motivated to be positive because I think it will annoy people.  I have come to learn that having a positive outlook on life and on the situations in which I find myself makes those situations (and life) seem more tolerable and worth getting through.  I need that at low times like these, otherwise I will continue on a spiralling path downwards… and I know I don’t want that.

8 thoughts on “Motivation for Positivity

  1. A powerful perspective changer that I’ve been trying to exercise is to “always see the good intentions.” Nobody is ever just evil for evil’s sake. There are always good intentions underneath – which reminds me that I have good intentions, as well. I didn’t just screw up because I’m a bad person. I had good intentions, but maybe it didn’t work out the way I wanted. Seeing the good in everyone isn’t foolish. It’s human 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • I’ve recently been shocked by an onslaught of tears and sadness because my good intentions were off the mark on one occasion when I was caring for one of my close friends when she was dying. Yesterday, I told a mutual friend about my guilt over the issue, and she reminded me of all the good things I did for my now dead friend, but it didn’t make me feel any better.
      Your words have, so thank you!

      Liked by 2 people

      • I’m very sorry to hear about your friend. Our flaws are part of our perfection. It’s hard – next to impossible – to live without any regret. But yeah, remembering good intentions is definitely a chore, but hopefully well worth it in the end 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

  2. We have two choices, to be positive, or negative. It’s much the same as choosing happiness over sadness – why would anyone choose sadness? Of course, sometimes we can’t control those feelings, but as you’ve proved to yourself, trying to stay positive helps us get out of the hole a lot faster than beating ourselves up with negatives.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

