Preparing for NaBloPoMo

It is coming up to that important time in the blogging year: National Blog Posting Month.  Although this blog is relatively new and has not existed during previous NaBloPoMo months, I have been blogging long enough to have successfully completed three of them.  Last year was the greatest challenge, as I was busier than I had ben in previous years.  This year, I fear, will be even worse.  I have been thinking about ways to help make this year’s NaBloPoMo as successful as possible.  With the hours that I am working right now and my high levels of exhaustion (therefore going to bed when my kids go to bed), I have had relatively little time to blog.  Last year I had a theme to the month and while that helped give me inspiration to blog every day, it took a different turn that I was expecting… but that’s what life is about, isn’t it?

For this year’s blogging month, I wondered if it would count as blogging if I posted posts from my old blog… some of my most liked or “signature” posts, if you will.  But i that cheating, seeing as how I’m not actually writing new posts for each day?

I also thought of having a question/answer period theme – as in, you all ask me a question or give me a topic/theme, and I can use those as the inspiration for blogging.  I could include a submission box at the end of each post and hope that I get enough submission to write about! The only challenge with that one is that it doesn’t completely alleviate the “time issues” that I will have this month!

One other thought I had was to go back and re-visit everything that happened last November.  It was a difficult month.  The theme of NaBloPoMo last year folowed a gift I had assembled for a friend and it included a quotation a day.  I blogged about the meaning of that quotation to me and why I picked it to include in the month of gifts. However, half-way through the month, that friend began pulling away and she stopped talking to me.  I’m not sure if she even ever read all the cards or opened the whole gift.  In the first week of December, that friend ended our friendship and we haven’t spoken since.  Going through all of those posts would be difficult, but perhaps it would allow me to change my perspective on some things regarding that relationship – maybe it would provide closure.  Or maybe not.  Maybe it would just cause an unnecessary re-experience of a difficult time in my life.  Part of me feels, however, that I need to redefine aspects of my life outside of my relationships with people… especially this one ex-friend.  Perhaps this is a way to begin that process.

Or, maybe I’m just grasping at ways of making this year’s NaBloPoMo a little easier to accomplish in light of the time constraints I will have.  Any suggestions are appreciated!

What type of authentic writing would you like to see during NaBloPoMo?

4 thoughts on “Preparing for NaBloPoMo

  1. I don’t think it’s cheating to share old posts from your previous blog. In fact, I think Nano Poblano (easier to type out then remembering the exact acronym) only has one rule which is to post daily, what you post is up to you entirely.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

