End of Lonely Days

For the past eight weeks I have been working at a smaller community hospital.  While there are many nurses and other doctors around, I’m not part of those groups.  There have only been two other residents around, and one of them is that one who refuses to talk to me.  For the past eight weeks I have felt myself go into a deeper and lonelier existence as I come to work every day and have little meaningful interactions with the people around me.

It doesn’t help that I am an introverted person by nature and that I find it difficult to just insert myself into other people’s business and conversations.  It also does’t help that I’ve spent the majority of the last eight weeks feeling exhausted and sick and I’ve been unable to talk to anyone at work about how I’m feeling.  To add to those two things, knowing that someone who (for reasons I will never quite understand) seriously dislikes me and will likely talk smack about me behind my back is lingering in the halls and around corners, I have been very tight lipped about anything I say.  While I really enjoy the more laid back work environment at this site, I miss the personal and more human interactions I usually can have at our busier, home-site hospital.

After my call shift tonight, I am done here and will be going back home.  Remind me of this post when I complain about how busy and tired and overworked I am after a few weeks of being back there.

2 thoughts on “End of Lonely Days

  1. Glad the necessary exile is at an end, and you can go back to your space. Even though I am not in my real element, I am realizing that my lab is rapidly becoming me wheelhouse and the Micro and A&P professors come to me with questions about solutions and best ways to set up a lab. =) I am beginning to feel needed, important as a team player and most of all, wanted and accepted on some level. Not my choice of venue, but I will take me peeps where I find them.

    Bets wishes and enjoy your homecoming, Aggie ! =) =)

    Like

Leave a Reply

