Pregnancy Shouldn’t be a Secret

I came across this blog post/article in my Facebook feed this morning:

http://www.scarymommy.com/articles/a-miscarriage-isnt-any-easier-if-no-one-knows-about-it?section=news&u=bx0JraXp8A
I love Scary Mommy for all their awesome and cynical posts about motherhood. This post, however is a little different. While I have no idea who these people are, I feel like it doesn’t matter. Why do we, as a society, feel the need to keep our successes and struggles with pregnancy a secret?

A miscarriage or a fertility struggle is not something of which we should be ashamed. Yet, people get criticized for sharing the news too early, or they feel like they can’t be honest about the excitement, disappointment, fear, or whatever emotion they’re feeling about their family planning. 

Previously I decided to be open about my decision and efforts to try for a third baby. If I’m going to be honest, I am disappointed that this time around hasn’t been as easy as the previous two… And when I say easy, I mean I think about being pregnant and BAM!  This time around I am into cycle 4.

I am trying to be more open about trying to conceive. However, I still find myself saying “I’d like to have another,” rather than, “yes, we’re trying,” when someone asks if we want another child. I wouldn’t say that I’m happy with my difficulties in being honest and open… But I can start here, on this blog:

I am trying. So far I haven’t had any luck. In fact, this month my period came earlier than I expected and this worries me because of my family history of premature ovarian failure. 

So there you have it – all my open and honest worries about my failed attempts at pregnancy over the past 3 months. 

7 thoughts on “Pregnancy Shouldn’t be a Secret

  1. I’m holding thumbs for you!
    (Or crossing fingers, I’m told, is the correct sentiment in countries other than my own.)
    Since I am not in the position to try at the moment, I live vicariously through other pregnancies in the blogging world. Is that weird? šŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

  2. CONGRATS ! I know that may sound premature, but it is more for the fact that you are trying, and sharing with us… =)

    You are so right about the secrecy, and judgement, and all the other insanity surrounding pregnancy decisions. I hope that you have a successful month, and if not, perhaps it is the universe’s way of telling you to just enjoy the present… =) =)

    Best of luck, have a beautiful day ! =)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

