From the Beginning

Any one who has common sense will remember that the bewilderments of the eye are of two kinds, and arise from two causes, either from coming out of the light or from going into the light, which is true of the mind’s eye, quite as much as of the bodily eye.

—Plato, The Republic
Today I start from the beginning.  But where is that. you ask?
The beginning is really only where the previous end left off, in much the same way that Plato’s bewilderment comes from either coming or going into the light.  Or, maybe it has more to do with seeing from the mind’s eye instead of the body’s eye.
Recently, I have come in from the light (or did I go out into the ligh?  I still don’t really know).  What I have learned, though, is that nothing is ever as it seems: it is never as straightforward, fair, decent, understanding, or utopian as you might have ever believed it to be.
Perhaps this misunderstanding – or incongruent understanding of the human condition – comes from using the wrong eye to look at the world.  I want to believe that to be the case.  And so, as I start off on this new adventure in the world of blogging I will do my best to look forward with the eye of my mind rather than that of my body.
I have said good-bye to a previous blogging adventure, and with nothing shallower than a lake of tears.  With this new path I hope to take what I’ve learned and grow more in my attempts to live honestly, wholeheartedly, and entrenched in authenticity.  I hope to bring elements from the past back to lighten my journey.  Yet, this is also an opportunity for me to close a chapter (or two, or two hundred) in my life that no longer needs to be open.
Perhaps that is exactly what this whole “Living with Authenticity” is meant to be: knowing when to hold on, knowing when to let go, and doing everything in between with strength, integrity, and honesty.
One thought on “From the Beginning

  1. A brave adventure, but I’m sure it’s not beyond you.
    I wonder if we are all born with trust in others, and as the years pass, we have that trust beaten out of us. I remember being totally devastated when I learnt a friend had lied to me by omission. I thought everyone told the truth all the time. That lesson has repeatedly been tossed my way ever since, but I now interpret it as their insecurities at work, rather than any basic evilness, and I cling to the belief that if I focus on the good in people – and it is there in abundance, all around us – I can keep my utopia, even if it’s an illusion..

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

